2023 Sterling Award Winners Announced

News Articles

2023 Sterling Award Winners Announced

Mar 16, 2023


Linda Rizzuto, president of Jackson Area Business and Professional Women, has announced the winners of Sterling Awards 2023: 20 Most Influential Women in West Tennessee, the Outstanding Woman Military Veteran and the Sue Shelton White Award.

The winners are:

Chester County: Gloria Holiday and Kimberly Jones.

Dyer County: Sonya Burks and Pam Mabry.

Fayette County: Haley Duffey.

Hardeman County: Nicka Sewell Smith.

Henderson County: Angela Spann

Henry County: Dr. Kimberly Martin.

Madison County: Sabrina Anderson, Caitlin Clark, Lauren LOLO Cobb, Dr. Anna Cook, Stephanie Laffoon, Mary Ross, Terica Smith, Dr, Melanie Van Stry, Dr. Jacqueline Taylor, Wendellyn Trice-Martin, Marda Wallace and Dr.April Webster.

The 2023 Outstanding Woman Military Veteran is US Navy Commander (ret.) Leanne Braddock, Crockett County, who served in the US Navy for 24 years.

Winner of the 2023 Sue Shelton White Award is Judge Vicki Snyder, Henry County, for her work to create change and her advocacy for children, especially children in need. The award is named in honor of Sue Shelton White, JABPW president from 1927 to 1931, who led the way in Tennessee’s ratification vote on August 18, 1920.

Sterling Awards 2023 will be televised at 6 p.m., Thursday, March 16, on EPlusTV 6 in Jackson. The event will also be live-streamed.

During the ceremony, JABPW’s two scholarship winners will also be recognized: Tracy Jones of Jackson, who is working on her associate degree in radiologic technology at Jackson State Community College; and Anita Servin of Jackson, who completed her associate degree in social work at Jackson State Community College in 2021 and is now finishing her bachelor’s degree in social work at University of Tennessee Martin. Each one received a $1,500 scholarship.

Jackson Area Business and Professional Women began in 1919, and for more than 100 years, has promoted women in business and aided with career development and education. For more information, go to www.jacksonareabpw.com.

... Credit: The Moore Studio Photo Caption:

2023 Sterling Award Winners: 20 Most Influential Women in West Tennessee

Outstanding Woman Military Veteran: CDR Leanne Braddock, USN (Ret)

Sue Shelton White Award: Judge Vicki Snyder

Front row, l. to r.: CDR Leanne Braddock, USN (Ret), Lauren “LOLO” Pritchard-Cobb, Haley Duffey, Dr. Jacqueline Taylor, Pam Mabry, Judge Vicki Snyder

Second row: Sonya Burks, Dr. April Webster, Caitlin Clark, Dr. Anna Cook, Sabrina Anderson

Third row: Gloria Holiday, Mary Ross, Marda Wallace, Angela Spann

Fourth row: Terica Smith, Dr. Kimberly Martin, Stephanie Laffoon, Nicka Smith, Wendellyn Trice-Martin.

Fifth row: Dr. Melanie Van Stry and Kimberly Jones